Applies To

Product: iRise Definition Center

More Information:

Preparation

  1. Download the correct iRise Definition Center Installer from the iRise Software Download Site and save the file locally on your server (ensure that you download the correct installer for your OS.
  2. Plan an outage window with your end users and give yourself time to complete all of the steps of the upgrade including backing up various files. On a large dataset (10GB+), the backup can take upwards of a few hours, so plan accordingly.
  3. Advise your end users that they will need to check-in any projects they have checked out of the Definition Center prior to this outage window.
  4. If you are upgrading either the major or minor version number of your Definition Center make sure your users know that post upgrade they will need to connect to the Definition Center with a Studio client whose version number matches the Definition Center in the major and minor numbers. A version number follows this pattern major.minor.maintenance. As an example, a v8.0.3 Studio client can connect to a v8.0.5 Definition Center, since they agree on the major number (8) and the minor number (0), but not to a v8.5.0 Definition Center, since the minor numbers do not agree.

Upgrade

  1. Verify that all users have logged off of the Definition Center. You can check the License and Memory information link in the Administration UI to figure out if anyone is still logged in to the Definition Center. The most recent license type counts for studio sessions and online sessions should indicate that all licenses have been returned and all users except for yourself have logged off of the Definition Center. Don't worry too much if you have a straggler. When you stop the iRise Definition Center service those users will be forced off. This is more of a courtesy step to your end users.
  2. Verify that all projects have been checked in to the Definition Center. You can check this in the Studio Organizer dialog or in the project list in the browser. The project will have a small checkmark next to its name, or project thumbnail.
  3. Reclaim any projects that have not been checked in to the Definition Center. Users who have a project reclaimed will not be able to check their projects back in to the Definition Center under that same name. Don't be alarmed; they won't lose their work but will have to save the project to the Definition Center under a different name. Click the 'Reclaim' icon in Studio's Organizer dialog to reclaim the project.
  4. Stop the iRise Definition Center service on the server.
  5. Backup the data directory. For a standard default installation the data directory will be located at x:\iRise\data. If you are unsure of the location of the data contact iRise Customer Support for assistance.
  6. It's also good practice to additionally backup the configuration folder at x:\iRise\DefCenter\Tomcat\conf. 
  7. Save off a copy of the x:\iRise\DefCenter\irise.license file
  8. Launch the installer and follow the prompts on the upgrade
  9. Confirm the data location and any additional configuration parameters. The installation should detect SSL and LDAP if you are running either and preserve those settings on upgrade. The installation summary screen should have all of that information correctly listed.
  10. After the upgrade completes, navigate to the login page for the Definition Center in a browser. Don't be alarmed if the login page takes a while to load - this usually takes few minutes.
  11. Login to the Definition Center to confirm that the upgrade completed properly.
  12. Announce the availability of the new version to your end users.

Did this answer your question?