Managing Definition Center users is one of the most common activities for an iRise Administrator. Take a look at this quick start video on adding users.

The following user administration tasks can be performed in the Definition Center:

  • Add a new user
  • Delete a user
  • Search for a user
  • Restore an inactive user
  • View and edit User Profile information
  • Create, configure and delete user Groups
  • Add users to and remove them from Groups

Creating a new user

To create a new User, you must belong to either Administrators or Managers group.
 
 1. Click on the dropdown by your name in the top-right corner > Users & Groups.

2. Click on the New User link

3. Complete the user information and then press the 'Add User' button.

Best practices/notes

For consistency, a standard naming convention (e.g., "jsmith") should be established for usernames. The username must be unique in the Definition Center. You can't create a username with the same name as a deleted user. You must restore the user and edit the profile.
 
A standard password can be used when adding users, since users have the ability to edit their own passwords, and should be encouraged to do so.
 
Both a System Administrator & User Administrator can create and delete users. Only a System Administrator can edit an existing user profile and reset their password by clicking the user's name to access their profile, and then clicking the Edit Profile or the Reset Password link above and to the right of the user information.
 
Note: the Reset Password feature is disabled when LDAP authentication is turned on.

User roles

The Role field determines whether users have the ability to create prototype projects in Editor and iRise Studio. You can see how many remaining licenses you have for users of each role in the Role panel on the left side of the page.
 
Three possible roles exist for Definition Center users:


Author - Users with an Author role are authorized to edit projects and connect iRise Studio to the Definition Center (and thereby activate their copy of Studio). Contact Support  if you need to purchase additional Author licenses.

Reviewer - Users with a Reviewer role are only authorized to review projects on the Definition Center on a read only basis with the exceptions of adding comments or requirements. They can do so via iRise Reader, a link provided by a project owner, or via the Definition Center web interface.

Contributor (discontinued) - Users with a Contributor role can review projects on the Definition Center in much the same way as a Reviewer. This role was used by our Enterprise customers to access add-ons, which have now been discontinued. This role will be dropped in future releases.

Searching for a user

To search for a specific user and access their profile, type a name into the search field in the Search People box at the top of the left column. An auto-complete feature will display a list of Active users whose names begin with the letters you typed. Use your mouse or the down arrow on your keyboard to select a name and pull up the user's profile.

Deleting and restoring users

To remove a user or users from Active status:
 
 1. Click on the bin icon to the right of a user's name to delete the individual user

OR

2. Select multiple users by placing a check in the checkbox to the left of their names.

3. Click OK when asked to confirm the deletion.

To restore a deleted user to Active status:

1.  Access the list of deleted users by clicking the Deleted link, which appears in the Status box at the bottom of the left column.

2. Select the users you wish to restore by placing a check in the checkbox to the left of their names.

3. Click the More Actions button.

4. Select Restore from the drop-down menu.

5. Click OK when asked to confirm the action.


Note: If a user was assigned to any projects or Groups at the time of deletion, restoring the user to Active status will also restore their project and Group affiliations.

User Profiles

Wherever a user's name appears in the Definition Center, it can be clicked to access the user's Profile page. The Profile page displays the user's name, email and other contact details, plus Messaging (Skype/LinkedIn/Twitter) & Slack Integrations (Team/Enterprise plans only). The profile also displays the groups to which the user belongs.
 
By clicking the Shared Projects tab in the upper right corner of the page, you can view a list of projects that are shared between you and the user. This article explains more about sharing projects with other users.
 
Users can access their own Profile page by clicking the My Profile link from their name in the top-right hand corner. From this page, the user can click the Change Password or Edit Profile link to make changes to their user profile. System Administrators can also make these changes for any user.

Note: the Reset Password feature is disabled when LDAP authentication is turned on.

Related Articles

Quick Start Video: Add your Team as Users
Sharing projects with other users
Managing Groups on the Definition Center
Using the Slack Integration on Cloud Definition Center

Did this answer your question?